Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
I've seen the bell unrung, I saw it in the majors at the beginning of last season.
Runner at second, batter hits a ball down the first base line that 1st base umpire calls foul. Manager comes out to argue, the crew gets together, change it to a fair ball, place the batter at second and score the runner.
So, in the majors at least, there is precedent to unring the bell.
|
The Federation specifically prohibits that.
|
LDUB,
I can see where a verbal "Foul Ball" make the ball dead immediately. [5-1-1h]
But R3 scored [5-2-2c], R2 is still at 2b (probably)
R1 is safe by [8-1-2b].
So now we have a "dead ball" misapplication of Rule.
By what rule may we not make it right?
It does not seem the "Foul!" call affected any part of the play during unrelaxed action.
mick