Thread: Bad partner
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 11:43am
gsf23 gsf23 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
You can correct a misapplication of a rule.

But there is also a rule that says if an umpire says FOUL BALL, the ball is dead. The bell can't be unrung.

The assignor needs to know that this guy needs more training and a test before he gets back on the field. The rules he's making up aren't even old rules that went away - they are simply wrong.

PS - why didn't coach protest (on any or all of the three).
I've seen the bell unrung, I saw it in the majors at the beginning of last season.

Runner at second, batter hits a ball down the first base line that 1st base umpire calls foul. Manager comes out to argue, the crew gets together, change it to a fair ball, place the batter at second and score the runner.

So, in the majors at least, there is precedent to unring the bell.
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote