Thread: Bad partner
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 10:04am
bellsjc bellsjc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Yesterday I had to do a modified level game. (7th, 8th, and 9th grade) Fed rules. I was partnered with someone who I never worked with before. Before the game started I went over everything we sould have and I asked him how many games he had done this year so far. He said 8 or 9, and he had umpired a number of years ago then moved away and decided this year to start up again. I thus assumed he was somewhat experienced and didn't forsee any rookie mistakes. Boy was I wrong. I asked him who he worked with and I didn't reccognize any of the names he said. He is considered a 1st year probationary umpire in our association. He had the plate. I knew I was in trouble in the first inning when the bases were loaded, 2 outs, 3rd strike was dropped by the catcher, batter starts to run to first and I hear him say "batter is out, 1st base is occupied." Both coaches said nothing. Couple innings later, batter hits a roller up the first base line. One of those rollers with lots of spin on it. As the ball is continuing to spin up the line, I hear him call "Foul Ball." The ball keeps spinning and ends up in fair territory. Again coaches say nothing. Someone in the stands does yell out that he can't call that foul if the ball is still rolling, everyone knows that! The topper happens a couple innings later. R2, R3, batter hits a slow roller up the third base line. The ball starts out foul but turns fair and hits smack dab in the middle of third base. R3 scores but about 5 seconds after the ball hits the base I hear my partner call "Foul Ball!" I was stunned. I couldn't believe he didn't see the ball hit the base. He was looking right at it and it was obvious. It was a slow roller that hit the middle of the base and bounced straight up and landed back on the base. The coach of the offensive team is coaching 3rd base and the play is right in front of him. He of course yells "What!? The ball hit the bag! You know it hit the bag!" Partner says nothing, coach looks at me in A and says you saw it hit the bag. I look at my partner he doesn't even look at me so I just stand there and say nothing. The coach then approaches my partner and askes him why he called that foul when the ball hit the bag. My partner tells him yes, it did hit the bag but the bag is in foul territory because the base is just a little to the left of the foul line. Coach says what are you talking about the base is fair!? My partner shook his head and said no, it is a foul ball. Fans go nuts, I want to run and hide. I am embarrased to be on the field with this guy. Should I have corrected these calls even though he never asked for any help from me? What do you guys do when you are partnered with someone who obviously has no business being an umpire?
Reply With Quote