Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
Carl - the discussion is about the "not a force" situation. Runner coming, fielder has the ball, ball comes lose on the tag as a result of the impact. Jerry asserts that this is an out the instant the fielder touches the runner, without regard to the fielder losing the ball. Most of us seem to have observed over the years that if the ball comes loose, the call is safe.
Comment?
|
Rich:
If you'll notice Mr. Lucy's latest post, you'll see I knew more about what he was saying that you did. (grin) He has been stuck in this bog since he learned to read the J/R, which -- as we know from the PBUC -- is just wrong on this point.
Now, to move to the play YOU want dissected.
That's an even easier call to make: Safe!
Gosh, haven't we been teaching umpires for years that, when in doubt, they should scream: "Show me the ball! Show me the ball!"