Quote:
Originally posted by andrewm
I'm still dealing with the pickoff from the windup issue with a few umps in our USSSA league. Some know the rule, some don't. The ones that don't say they'll look it up for future reference. However, I have one ump that said he would look it up after I asked him about it before a game. Before our next game he told me that he looked it up and called USSSA and told me it was a balk. He said he'd call a balk every time we ran it. For league games, that's fine, I'm not going to press the issue. But, if he calls a tournament game and balks us, I don't really want to let it slide.
I know judgement calls are not protestable, and generally balks are judgement calls. But can I protest for a misapplication of the balk rule?
If not, I'll just have to live with it when he umps our games.
|
If you can get the umpire to admit that he called a balk because you can't make a pickoff attempt from the windup position then you have a protestable situation, ie not a judgment call, just misapplication of the rules. But it would be far better and more efficient to coach players in the fundamentals, instead of focusing on obscure rules and trick plays.