1.) Not enough info to say if the OBS call was correct:
*What level/ rule set for this game?
*Where was the ball?
*Did F "need" to be where he was to field the throw?
*Steal or force play?
*Was the slide directly into the base?
*What was the nature/ extent of the "contact"?
Presuming the OBS call was correct, the award is correct IF [in umpire judgment] R1 would have made 3rd in the absence of the OBS.
Ordinarily, I'd have some difficulty agreeing that an award of 3d was correct with R1 sliding into 2d; esp. if the ball was in flight toward the infield.
|