View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2001, 10:06pm
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Originally posted by Gre144
Batter runner bunts the ball down the 3rd baseline. The ball stops right next to the foul line but does not touch the foul line. However, part of the ball is over fair territory but is not physically touching fair ground. Is it a fair ball?
I would call the ball foul since I cannot conceive of trying to decide if a bounding ball went by third and "broke the plane" of the bag as it went past the base.

BUT: Richard Fetchiet, the rules interpreter for the NCAA, on 4/20/01 ruled that a ball as you describe is a FAIR BALL at their level.
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote