Thread: Sliding rule
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 12:36pm
jicecone jicecone is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Originally posted by VaCoach
I agree with what GarthB asked. Why could not a coach argue that this side kept the first baseman from getting a double play. What about same type play in a first and third situation. Does the runner going to second have to slide directly into second base or can he not try to avoid being tagged and what if in this attempt he slides into the shortstop who is attempting to throw to home to get the runner who was on third base? Neither of these plays are "force" plays, so do you have the slide rule in affect?
I truly believe GarthB made a statement, not a question.

As far as the rest of your question, I am assuming that you are talking about a runner on 1st and 3rd. In this case the runner going into 2nd IS, a force play and has the option of sliding in a direct line with the bases or running away from the play and NOT doing anything to alter the play. If the runner does alter the play or slide illegally to cause contact, the umpire can call the runner out at second and the runner the fielder was attemping to throw out.

Of course, I am also assuming you are asking about High School Rules.
Reply With Quote