Bases loaded, one out, fly ball caught by F9, R3 tags and scores, R1,R2 take off, both between 2nd and 3rd, F9 throws to second (after R3 crosses the plate), R2 out. Does the run score? I say yes, it is now a time play and R3 scored before the out was made. My partner a long time varsity ump with years of playoff exp. says no run, the runners were forced for the third out. Coach goes nuts and I try to talk to my partner but he insists. The League Director just happens to be there and tries to get the interperter on the phone. Try explaining this on Nextel. I am the PU, but do not overrule my partner and the run doesn't count. We continue the discussion into the parking lot, but I will not back down that I am right. I gave in in the interest of peace, it had no impact on the game, 16-1 final. Is that what the little dogs have to do? If I am right, do I make sure word gets back to him (there would be no repercussions because it is not that type of league or association and he wouldn't take offense)? It is not the first time the bigger dogs have misinterpreted a rule or two and have "bet" on the results.
Ed H
|