View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 10, 2005, 12:32am
bluezebra bluezebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally posted by AtlUmpSteve
"The rules are very clear that if the 3rd out of an inning is on a tag play , all runs scoring prior to that tag will stand."

Please, let's not open that can of worms. A tag play can still be a force out that keeps a run from scoring. The explanation needs to be that the third out his defense took was a timing play , rather than a force out.
Not really. A "TAG PLAY" is, by common usage, considered to be other than a "FORCE PLAY". A force out may be made by a tag, but is not considered a "Tag Play".

R1..B2 hits ground ball directly to F4, R1 is tagged before reaching 2B. It's a "Force Out" made by a tag.

R2..B2 hits ground ball to F4, R2 attempts to advance to 3B. F4 throws to F5, who applies tag on R2. "Tag Play".

Basically, a "Tag Play" means the runner must be tagged, not the base.

There is a subtle difference.

Bob