View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 09, 2005, 11:40pm
WestMichBlue WestMichBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Where are you guys coming from with an appeal play? There are only 4 conditions in which an umpire cannot rule on a play until requested - and this is not one of them. A tag play (on R2) and a putout at 1B are umpire calls.

Also, a fourth out appeal to negate a run can only be made on the runner that scored. See Rule 5.5.C

Also note Casebook 5.5.7 is similar to Mike's situation - run scores, next runner is tagged for 3rd out, and the B-R is put out at 1B for 4th out. The answer is that R1's run is not nullified which does not agree with Mike's continuous play assertation.

WMB