View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 09, 2005, 10:17pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally posted by Bluefoot
Doesn't anybody read the rule book? (Just kidding)

POE#1 APPEALS
M. Fourth Out Appeal. (2005, page 133) An appeal may be made after the third out as long as it is made properly.

The play described in the original post is a proper live ball appeal. (wait, keep reading, same page, but go up to letter...)

J. Force Out. If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out.

So, my conclusion A.) putting these together, the live ball appeal at 1B is allowed as the "fourth", or new third out, and thus the force at 1B neagates the run.

Or is it conclusion B.) Does the third out made by F6 on the runner in the rundown eliminate the force on the BR, and thus, the appeal is no longer a force out, and the run does score?

I go with my "A" conclusion. Run does not score.

Good question and making us think, Mike.
Here is my issue with this play; the appeal has to be done properly. You have pointed out this was done as a live ball appeal, but can we have a live ball appeal after the third out is made? I don't ever recall a libve ball appeal for a fourth out. It strikes me that, after the third out is made, you can only allow a properly made dead ball appeal, and that can't be honored without a verbal appeal.

Thinking out loud, now, in the manner that Henry would now pose; because I considered the appeal aspect before reminding we don't want to refer to a tag play, rather a timing versus force out.