View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 09, 2005, 09:24pm
Little Jimmy Little Jimmy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
Jel,

Yes. She may not know the semantics but she knows that if she throws the ball back that there's a rule somewhere that will get her a out.

I guess I'm looking at the original scenario to be analogous to this example. Routine grounder to the infield. Overthrow pulls F3 off the base and runner also misses first. Before runner gets back to 1st F3 picks up the ball steps to throw back to pitcher and by chance clips 1st wtih her foot as the ball sails back to F1. Award the appeal even though there was no conscious thought of one?