View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 31, 2005, 06:08pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by TigerBball
OK, now I am really confused BktBallRef. If you step with one foot, then end your dribble, then land on two, I thought you could pivot.
No, you can't.

4-43-2b
If one foot is on the floor:

1. It is the pivot when the other foot touches in a step.
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.

Quote:
If you end your dribble, step with one foot, land on two, you can't pivot.

but in your post you said the first action was a travel.
You have to end you dribble with the foot on the floor, jump and land with both feet simultaneously. And you still cannot pivot.

Hence the confusion. BBR is both right and wrong depending on which jumpstop is being discussed. I know he knows this rule and is ruling on the one where the dribble is picked up with one foot on the ground...no pivot allowed after the jump/landing. However, I believe the question is meaning to imply that the dribbler strides off of one foot, catches the dribble, and lands on both feet. In that case, a choice of pivots is allowed.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Apr 1st, 2005 at 06:42 PM]
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote