| 
			
			Hello,
 A few of you might remember from olden days on other places, please say hello if you remember me.
 
 FED rules problem. BR beats out a hit, but does not touch the bag. Now I know we got new casebook play 8.2.3 and that mess.
 
 But tonight, at my local rules meeting, I said the following:
 "Best umpiring practice today says that you make the safe call, even if BR missed the bag." Discussion got interesting from here, but my problem is:
 
 "Is there any FED rules/casebook/manual support for justifying this practice?" It's fine if OBR uses it, and Carl Childress recommends it, and others fight about it. But I got people in this group who want to see FED support befroe they call it that way.
 
 Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
 |