r3 cannot occupy 2nd base unless r2 gives up second by touching third. Therefore r3 is not entitled to second and must return to first. The play is not over until she does so, or r2 vacates second base, in which case r1 would have to vacate third base. As far as LBR, what is the intent of the rule, the intent is to keep runners from playing chicken with the pitcher and speed up play, that is clearly not what is happening here. I will agree if no one does anything just call time and fix it, but give everyone the opportunity to sort it out first. If the runner leaves second to go back to first, you cannot call her/him out on the LBR because she is trying to fulfill h/her obligation as a baserunner. If you get an argument from this one just use rule 10 section 1.
|