View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2005, 04:00pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally posted by Ranger23
Look back rule can not be in effect, the runner at first that is actually at second, may in fact return to 1st with liability to be put out. They do not legaly have a right to second base, that belongs to the runner already standing on second. Therefore they must return to first, the look back rule is not to be used to stop a play in progress. If the runner attempts to return to first they are not to be considered in violation of the LBR. The umpire cannot allow a pitch because the play is not over. Not much of a situation here just let it play out.
Where in the lookback rule do you find these exceptions? If the ball is in the pitcher's possession in the circle and no play is made by the pitcher, the LBR is in affect, any runner who has stopped on a base cannot then leave without violating the rule. That is what the rules state as cited previously, so please cite some rules that support your statements.
Reply With Quote