Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
On what base did R2 begin this play? Nevermind, doesn't make any difference. The call is correct. If anything, the obstruction would have benefitted the runner, not hurt her.
BTW, I don't think most umpires would consider these unusual plays.
[/B]
|
When I use the term R2 - I mean it to imply "runner on 2nd."
I never could understand the FED convention for naming runners.
In FED you have to say, "R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st" when it is so much clearer to say "R1 and R3 ..." Plus, you get a better picture of
where each runner started which is often helpful in complex situations.
I agree that situation #1 is not difficult ... just unusual.
There does not seem to be a consensus in this forum as to the proper solution for #2, however. So, it might be more difficult (or unusual) than you give it credit for.
It begs the question: Can an obstructed runner be put out
between the bases where she was obstructed?
Is the answer a categorical "No!" -or- "No,
unless she missed a base or left a base early."?
David Emerling
Memphis, TN