The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 27, 2005, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA

On what base did R2 begin this play? Nevermind, doesn't make any difference. The call is correct. If anything, the obstruction would have benefitted the runner, not hurt her.

BTW, I don't think most umpires would consider these unusual plays.
[/B]
When I use the term R2 - I mean it to imply "runner on 2nd."

I never could understand the FED convention for naming runners.

In FED you have to say, "R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st" when it is so much clearer to say "R1 and R3 ..." Plus, you get a better picture of where each runner started which is often helpful in complex situations.

I agree that situation #1 is not difficult ... just unusual.

There does not seem to be a consensus in this forum as to the proper solution for #2, however. So, it might be more difficult (or unusual) than you give it credit for.

It begs the question: Can an obstructed runner be put out between the bases where she was obstructed?

Is the answer a categorical "No!" -or- "No, unless she missed a base or left a base early."?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1