View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2005, 08:11pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by clueless
Guys, I was curious if a dead ball appeal in ASA JO FP was done in a similiar manner as baseball? For example, an opposing batter hits the ball into the right center gap and cruises in to 2nd for a stand up double. A representative from my team (after the play is over and the ball is back in the pitching circle) requests time and asks the PU for an appeal beacuse she thinks the batter/runner missed touching first base. In this situation, would it be necessary for the pitcher to throw over to first and have the F3 touch the bag before getting a ruling? Also, am I correct in assuming that the ball isn't dead until ruled dead by an ump or it has been returned to the pitching circle with the runner committed to staying on the bag until the ball is pitched?

Thanks for sharing your expertise. I know these are pretty mundane questions. However, a lot of this stuff is still greek to me.
Dead ball appeals can be made by any infielder with/without the
ball verbally. This would include the pitcher or catcher.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote