We did not get the whole game out here in the West, but we were switched over to it near the end of regulation. Therefore, I have that and both OTs recorded on tape. I watched this game finish at a pizza joint with a buddy who is also a quality official. We cheered, laughed, and really enjoyed it. We noticed debated some calls, which turn out to be just the ones mentioned on this thread, so I spent an hour today watching those calls in slow motion. Here are my opinions:
1. The travel at the start of the first OT should have been called earlier. It is hard to see but when the player receives the original pass his right foot is on the floor. He then comes down on his left in the FT semicircle, this makes his RIGHT foot the pivot, not the left as the TV announcer stated. He now stepped with his right foot to the top of the key. Travel at this point. The center official did not make a call at this time. I don't know if that is because it truly is the Trails primary area (FT semicircle) or he gave the player the benefit of the doubt on his right foot and was using the left as the pivot. Now the Wake Forest player picked up his left foot, but did not put it back down, and passed/handed the ball to Chris Paul. A travel was whistled here by the center.
So, it depends upon which foot you considered the pivot. Right = a travel, Left = no violation.
2. First PC against Paul was textbook and easy. Pittsnogle was in great position in the center of the lane and Paul crashed into him.
3. Paul's 5th foul on the ensuing possession against Gansey was a great call. He came from behind in an attempt to block the shot and whacked him on the forearm.
4. Second PC against Wake was the tough one. I agree with what Tony wrote 100% on this one.
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
The is the classic example of a PC foul that gets called a block. The defender was moving his feet, just like you hear coaches yell. He beat the dribbler to the spot. A1 was not airborne.
That's a PC.
|
5. We both noticed at the same time and got a good laugh out of the Lead both indicating and touchdown signalling that made three by Wake near the end. He had NO BUSINESS looking over there or making that call. The shot was taken from in front of the C near the top of the key. It was not a transition play as Wake was pushing the ball up following some FTs by WV. Seeing him standing under the basket with his arms up on the replay was rather amusing!
6. My feeling on the carry is based on game management. It seemed like all the tough calls (although right IMO) and bounces of the ball went against Wake in the 2OT periods. While the carry, which could be better described as a hesitation dribble, was there and did confer an advantage by helping the dribbler get past the defender, I felt it was a bit picky and could have been passed on. I have not observed that call being made throughout the tournament and can't say for this game due to regional coverage (unlike the great job of consistently calling the intentional fouls, which deserves a thread of its own). Wake probably felt like they were having it stuck to them after this call. So, I say that it was right by rule, but considering how that rule has been applied, I would have been more lenient at that point in the game.
I really thought that this crew did a solid job in a very difficult game. I believe that each team had three players foul out. There were some real bench warmers in there at the end, who got a chance to shine in a huge situation.
Overall, I have to give the crew an A- for the time that I saw because the Lead being on that three is just inexcusable to me.