View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 02:32pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by tmp44
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
By rule, yes.

By the laws of nature, probably not.
Chuck,
I do not thnk the rule was meant to include the turn, but only the catch.
I think it is functionally unclear beyond the "tip only".
mick
Mick,

I understand what you're saying here, but if in the official's judgment the ball was released before the horn, by rule it cannot be waved off, correct? I say that because if we talking about a turn and shoot, from a ball thrown from OOB, neither official will have definite knowledge that more than .4 seconds elapsed (i.e., no one would have had a count during a running clock). I can see a situation where an official may wave it off because it is just so obvious that the basket is no good, but without a dribble, official's count, or anything else that may give an official definite knowledge , I'm just unsure as to how it could be waved off.
Todd,
I agree with you.
My point was not that the basket couldn't happen, but was that it is not a rule that it did happen.
mick
Reply With Quote