View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 01:50pm
tmp44 tmp44 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
By rule, yes.

By the laws of nature, probably not.
Chuck,
I do not thnk the rule was meant to include the turn, but only the catch.
I think it is functionally unclear beyond the "tip only".
mick
Mick,

I understand what you're saying here, but if in the official's judgment the ball was released before the horn, by rule it cannot be waved off, correct? I say that because if we talking about a turn and shoot, from a ball thrown from OOB, neither official will have definite knowledge that more than .4 seconds elapsed (i.e., no one would have had a count during a running clock). I can see a situation where an official may wave it off because it is just so obvious that the basket is no good, but without a dribble, official's count, or anything else that may give an official definite knowledge , I'm just unsure as to how it could be waved off.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote