View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2001, 12:18pm
JeffRef JeffRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 87
Here is the FIBA rule:

36.1.2
Allowance must be made for a player who:

• Makes an attempt to leave the restricted area.
• Is in the restricted area when he or his team-mate is in the act of shooting and the ball is leaving or has just left the player's hand(s) on the shot for a field goal.
• Dribbles in to shoot for a field goal after having been in the restricted area for less than three (3) seconds.

I started refereeing with FIBA rules but when I started reffing college I needed to learn NCAA rules. The rule seems to read a bit differently, but my interpretation has never changed and I've never had any problems at the college level (with this call anyway , ha, ha!). I see it called around here all the time without arguments from anybody.

Must be a regional thing! Something for our zone to discuss before the season starts in November.

Sorry for the snap Tony . I'll recind my remark based on mick's comment.


Reply With Quote