Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by ChuckElias 
 
	Short jokes aside, you conveniently forgot to answer the second question in my post.  I agree that the spirit of the rule is to prevent using the feet to control the ball.  However, without a specific definition to the contrary, touching is not striking.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Jurassic Referee 
 
	Yes.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by ChuckElias Does "placing" one's foot on top of the ball really equal "striking" it?
 |  |  
 (A specific definition to the contrary would be like the definition of "intentional" as it pertains to intentional fouls.)
 | 
	
 Chuck, the original post said that the player stopped the ball from rolling OOB by placing her foot on it. She then rolled the ball 
backward to herself. Now, I certainly don't have a Ph.D in anything, but that kinda implies to me that force had to be applied to the ball to get it to do those little tricks--stop it first and then give it a complete change of direction. Simply touching the ball would also affect it-even minutely- by applying a l'il bit of friction, wouldn't it? Isn't the over-all effect to actually control the ball with the foot, no matter what?
Btw, I thought the "intentional" part was a given.