Quote:
Originally posted by LarryS
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by buckrog64
I observed this in a game last night. A shooting foul is called as the horn goes off ending the third quarter. A technical foul is also called on the same team. The quarter ends with four foul shots, all by the same team. The fourth quarter then begins with the officials using the AP arrow. I would have thought that the team shooting the technical fouls would have retained possession at the beginning of the fourth quarter. Appreciate comments.
|
The technical foul was part of the third quarter. The throw-in penalty part of that "T" does not carry over into the fourth quarter. AP to start the 4th quarter was the correct call.
If the "T" was assessed after the third quarter ended, then the fourth quarter would begin with a throw-in for that "T", not an AP.
|
If the shooting foul occurs "as the horn goes off" and then a technical foul is called, seems to me the T was assessed after the third quarter ended unless the quarter did not officially end until after the free throws for the shooting foul.
I don't have my book with me...so I could very well be wrong.
|
I believe the next quarter doesn't start until the intermission period has begun. In either case, if the T was called prior to the last free throw ending, it's definitely part of the third quarter.