Quote:
Originally posted by sjhoops
HS Rules-
1. Team A receives ball after AP. While Team A is throwing in ball, Team B intercepts throw in. Arrow stays with Team A for the next AP?
2. Team A receives ball after AP with 1 or 2 seconds left in Period. To keep posession for the start of the next period, they either a) pass it directly to Team B-see above- b) throw it out of bounds with no one touching it or c) Fumble it out of bounds with out having possession at a more desirable place on the court. Would they receive the Ball Back to start the next period in all of these cases?
|
1. No. Once B has touched the inbounding pass, the throw-in has completed, and the arrow shall be reversed in direction.
2. In (a), B gets the arrow to start the next quarter. In (b), a throw-in violation has occurred. This act also reverses the arrow. B will throw-in as a result of A's violation. B gets the arrow to start the next quarter, as the arrow was reversed. In (c), I assume you mean that A touches the ball, but never obtain player (and therefore team) possession. A's touching also ends the AP throw-in, and the arrow shall be reversed, which gives B the throw-in to start the next quarter.
So, pretty much, A gets nothing!
To B or not to B? In these cases, to B: they get the ball to start the next quarter.