View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2005, 03:31pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
[/B]
I've seen this happen, the official said his count only reached nine, so he reset the clock as if only 9 seconds had elapsed. A little bit unorthodox, and it showed that this official was quite good at thinking on his feet. Although it's not what I would've done, it was pretty cool. [/B][/QUOTE]Unfortunately, the rules don't allow the official to use that procedure. He was wrong.

The direction is given in casebook play 5.10.1SitC--"If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds".

Iow, uncool.
Reply With Quote