The NCAA's "indirect technical foul" -- which results in two shots for the offended team, but does not count toward a player's 5 fouls for DQ or toward the team fouls -- does not exist in FED rules.
All technical fouls in FED are direct and result in two FTs for the offended team plus possession of the ball (unless double or simultaneous technicals). In FED rules, the only time an indirect T is charged is when a team member other than a player is charged with a direct T. In that case, an indirect T is charged to the head coach, but does not result in any additional FTs.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|