JR, while what you're describing is the way we handle it in practice due to the possibility that it could be a pass (we're unwilling to just make a judgement and wait until we have an excuse not to make a judgement), I think rwest is technically correct.
It IS a dribble when it leaves the players hand. We just can't tell yet, with absolute certainty. The case play posted makes it very clear that the violation occurs when the ball is pushed to the floor, not when it returns to the hand. We're just calling it late after we're sure.
|