View Single Post
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2005, 07:12am
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: The dribbler does not have to touch it first to b

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
The violation occurs the instant the ball is released on the second dribble. However, it may not always be possible to determine if it really is a dribble until they've touched it the second time. You may have to delay the call. [/B]
Can you please cite a rule from somewhere, anywhere to tell us what that violation is? It sureashell ain't a double dribble because the player hasn't dribbled until he touches it after the ball bounces the first time.

Lah me, if you delay your whistle and the player that started the drbble didn't touch it again, where did the violation disappear to?

There is no rule that states that a player who has already dribbled can't drop the ball,pass, shoot or start a second dribble. What they can't do is make a second dribble. Starting a dribble is not making a dribble.

This has to be one of the most basic rules around. I can't believe the amount of confusion surrounding it. [/B][/QUOTE]

Case 4.15.A: As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

Ruling: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she PUSHED the ball to the floor a violation occurred (9-5).

The ruling says the violation occurred when he/she pushed the ball, not when he/she touched it after it bounced.

Reply With Quote