View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 08:47pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: The dribbler does not have to touch it first to be an

Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

[/B]
The violation occurs the instant the ball is released on the second dribble. However, it may not always be possible to determine if it really is a dribble until they've touched it the second time. You may have to delay the call. [/B][/QUOTE]Can you please cite a rule from somewhere, anywhere to tell us what that violation is? It sureashell ain't a double dribble because the player hasn't dribbled until he touches it after the ball bounces the first time.

Lah me, if you delay your whistle and the player that started the drbble didn't touch it again, where did the violation disappear to?

There is no rule that states that a player who has already dribbled can't drop the ball,pass, shoot or start a second dribble. What they can't do is make a second dribble. Starting a dribble is not making a dribble.

This has to be one of the most basic rules around. I can't believe the amount of confusion surrounding it.
Reply With Quote