Just to clarify. The elbow was delivered while the kicker was trying to block the defender from playing the ball after the ball had hit the keeper and was angling towards the goalline. Both players were within the goal area about 4 meters from the ball as it was crossing the goal line. I believe the kicker was aware he could not touch it a second time and hoped to obstruct the defender. Speculation to be sure but does it change anything?
I still can not quite grasp why if I had of blown the quick whistle the game would not be over. I am sure you have explained it well enough perhaps I am too thick headed where my sense of right and wrong interferes with my judgement. It just seems to me the rules are at odds with the intent of the law and spirit of the game to allow a goal that had no chance of going in. Would it make any diference if the deflection hit the ground 1st then the keepers head? If the rebound had missed the keeper, continued out into the field further than the 5 meters where the keeper was laying at what point would the game be over? I promise this will be my last gasp at wrestling with this. Thanks for your patience
|