View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:03pm
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
This came up today in a JV game . . .

A1 was at the line for one shot, having made a basket while being fouled in the act. While the ball was in the air for the first shot, the trail official blew his whistle for a technical foul on Team A, 6 players on the court. The foul shot went in.

What they did was to cancel the free throw and go right to the technical.

My response, without immediate recourse rules or the casebook, was that they should have counted the free throw - the ball was out of the shooter's hand. It's what you'd do if the clock were running, a shot were taken, and someone said "Eph you" during the flight of the ball. Or am I wrong? Then, in this scenario, clear the lane and shoot the T, followed by the ball to Team B.

Furthermore . . .

1. If the T had been on Team B, same ruling on the foul shot.

2. If the T had come during the first of two, clear the lane, let the shooter take the secondmerited shot, then shoot the T.

No?

I'm still trying to reschedule tomorrowin the slightly buried Northeast, so please forgive my asking instead of doing the work . . .
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote