Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Nevadaref
|
I read this thread rather quickly so forgive me if I am mistaken, but I am quite amazed that, while the definitions of airborne shooter and how a try ends have been provided, no one has quoted the definition of the act of shooting.
SECTION 40 SHOOTING, TRY, TAP
ART. 1 . . . The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, and includes the airborne shooter.
|
You are mistaken. I cited rule 4-40 way back in the first post on page 2 of this thread. You are forgiven. [/B][/QUOTE]
Am I misreading you, JR, or did you misunderstand me? You did NOT quote 4-40-1 which is the definition of the act of shooting, rather you only quoted 4-40-4 which states how a try ends.
That is EXACTLY what I wrote had been given, while stating that the definition provided in 4-40-1 had NOT been referenced in the thread.
Your above claim is baffling.
Here is your post from the top of page 2. It does NOT even contain the words "act of shooting", let alone a definition of that term:
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Lah me, simple play.
Rule 6-7Exception3-- foul during a try-- "The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight". Iow, in this case the initial trying motion in this sitch ENDED by rule as soon as the ball left the shooter's hand(s).
Rule- 4-40-4--"The try ends when....it is certain that the throw is unsuccessful...." In this case, the try ends as soon as the shooter touched it again after the ball left his hands on the first try.
Back to R6-7Exception--- "The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends...." The try ended with the second touching(obviously it can't go in now).
What you have here is just a second attempt at a "try", but unfortunately it's a second attempt with a dead ball. You can never count it. No basket and 2 FT's is the only call.
Are you people trying to tell me that a player who is fouled while tapping a ball can continue tapping the ball until he finally gets one to drop? Same thing, isn't it?
|
But can I save your forgiveness and use it another time when I need it? Kind of like a "Get out of Jail Free" card.