Thread: Airborn Shooter
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 28, 2005, 05:31pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Maverick
Quote:
This is simple, answer these two questions:

A1 goes up, B1 hits him, the ball comes out and A2 tips it in, does it count?

A1 goes up to tip the ball and is fouled by B1, on the way back down A1 tips it again and the ball goes in, does it count?
I'm not sure either contributes to our discussion: In the first, A2 isn't the original shooter so it wouldn't count. But that doesn't mean that the same player can't complete a try. In the second situation, the first try ended so the second wouldn't count. I'm suggesting that there is only one try in our situation so again I don't think that helps with our discussion.
[/B]
Both contribute.

The first shows that the ball is dead when it is loose and does not go in the basket from A1.

The second applies because of 4-40-6.

So again this is simple when the ball is knocked loose it is either NOT a try and dead, or it IS a try and a second try cannot be attempted.

Both cases are handled the same way no basket and 2 or 3 FTs.

You have still given no rule or case play that says otherwise, in fact the dead ball exception on a foul clearly states, the try MUST BE CONTINUOUS or the ball becomes dead. Starting the shooting motion and regaining the ball is NOT continuous.
Reply With Quote