View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2005, 08:25pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Re: No arrow CHANGE

Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
The arrow becomes SET once Team A completes their throw-in.

Once Team A has inbounded the ball, the arrow should be set to Team B.

I'm looking at an old book (01-02) but check around Rule 8-5-2, 6-3-1, and 4-3.

Not quite.

4-3-3b: The initial direction of the arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after the free throws for a noncommon foul.

This way, if there's a held ball on the throw-in (A holds the ball over the court, B ties it up), we'll have a posession arrow off of which to base our call.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote