View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 21, 2005, 01:57am
Malcolm Tucker Malcolm Tucker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally posted by zanzibar
I have 2 similar cases.
Case 1: B1 is running out to defend the jump shot. B1 is going "nearly" straight at the shooter A1. B1 jumps about 5 feet forward to contest the shot but clearly is going past the shooter without contact. B1 does jump first. The shooter jumps sideways and creates contact. Who is the foul on?

I guess this is a hypothetical. How does B1 plan to defend a jump shot if the offensive player has not commenced a jump shot.

Technical foul on B1 for being dumb
Technical foul on shooter for being dumber


Case 2: Similar case. B1 is running out to defend the jump shot. This time B1 does not take a path beside the shooter, but is going straight at the shooter. B1 has body control when he jumps to contest the shot. B1's body is going to stop about a foot before he gets to the shooter. B1 is clearly not going to make contact with A1 the shooter if A1 goes straight up with the shot. If A1 jumps forward into B1, who is the foul on?

This is simple and still dumb but its a block same as if it happened on the ground. B1 still moving forward when contact made.

Summation:
It seems to me that an airborne player can not change his path or to backup, therefore it should be a foul on the shooter in these cases. I hear other opinions. Help would be appreciated.
__________________
I once had a sense of humour but now I am a referee
Reply With Quote