View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 10:26pm
Texas Aggie Texas Aggie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
>>Can you cite a FED rule that says that this has to be a foul<<

Well, the personal foul rule reads: "A player shall not hold, push, charge, trip or impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s) or knee(s) or by bending his or her own body into other than a normal position;" (Note: I don't have a Fed book; haven't worked interscholastic since around 1996 or so, so this is NCAA, but if I recall correctly, it is the same def. -- correct me if wrong). "Normal position" isn't defined, therefore, its commonly understood meaning must be applied. One can take reference from guarding position, which calls for two feet on the floor. Given basketball isn't a game that usually involves body parts other than the feet to be in contact with the floor, I'd say this is a reasonable interpretation.

I have not seen the casebook in several years, so if you can cite the SPECIFIC (not your interpretation) wording of the AR, I'll evaluate it, but if the Federation is telling officials to call this play traveling, in my view, that is inconsistent with their other rules. NCAA rule is clear: foul.
Reply With Quote