Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Junker  
In the play described, the player got the pass off before returning to the floor.  Under 4-25-2 listed, the ruling specifies that it is a held ball if the player is prevented from completing the pass or try.  In this case, the pass was completed.  The pass was able to be thrown, how is it a held ball?   
			
		 | 
	
	
 Because, as 4.25.2 states, "A held ball results 
immediately..."  As soon as the shot is prevented from being released, the held ball occurs.  It makes no difference what happend after that.