Thread: Violation?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 02:09pm
Junker Junker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
I had this situation in my game last night. An assistant coach asked me about it. What I ruled was that it depends on what the official is doing. The play in my game happened as you described, but I don't belive it was a set play, the team was just trying to get the ball to the inbounder for their press break. I ruled that it was not a violation as when the pass oob occurred, I had not yet begun my 5 second count beginning the thow in. If I had begun counting when the oob pass was made, I would have called the violation. I didn't have my books and don't have them now, but that was the way I ruled it. I'm on 100% on this so I'd love to hear some responses.
Reply With Quote