Quote:
Originally posted by timharris
A=OFFENSE B=DEFENSE
hello
A has the ball in the frontcourt for a throw in the ball touches A2 hands and goes into the backcourt; is this a back court violation?
thanks
tim
|
When I had this is a game last week, the other coach came up to me at the end of the quarter and asked why it wasn't a violation. Since he had been a pretty decent guy that night, I decided to explain the entire situation. I took a deep breath and started with the four elements needed to have a violation, then explained there is no team control during a throw-in, then went on to how team control is established by establishing player control and then went over the the definition of player control. I summed up by stating that if even one element is missing, there is no violation.
The explanation took about one full minute. He looked like a deer caught in headlights. Finally, he said to me, "You're one of them rules junkies, ain't ya?"