Quote:
Originally posted by Suppref
I agree with all you say but, for discussion purposes only, is not an airborne shooter considered in the act of shooting? And is a set shot in the act of shooting? I see this as the same thing, this happens on the girls level all the time, I don't remember ever seeing it at the boys level. What do you think?
|
The logic here doesn't follow. Just because A > C, and B > C, it doesn't mean that A > B automatically. The rule book is very clear that the capped ball thing only applies to the airborne shooter, not to continuous motion. My question isn't so much where the rule applies -- it's the definition of an airborne shooter. Do the feet have to be completely off the floor? I tend to think so, but I'm wondering if I have misinterpreted something.
Suppref said below that he doesn't want to "penalize good defense." But it's no penalty to no-call something that shouldn't be called. Penalyt would be calling it blocking, or something like that.