Quote:
Originally posted by ChiliBob
I believe that is what some have been trying to say. Once the infraction is not called at the time of the infraction, no penalty can be assessed. Once the player enters the game and the scorer does not inform the refs, it cannot be penalized if the player later returns. When the player later returns, the player would, in theory, be in the book. If the player is not in the book and we have knowledge that the player was previously in the game, the error is on the scorebook keeper for not putting the player in the book previously. No "T". What if the player scored or fouled when previously in the game and it was not noticed then? Do we take the points off or delete the foul? No, because once the player was allowed to play, the player is a legal player. When the player returns, it is a legal player returning. Now, if another player entered the game not in the book or with the wrong number, we still have the administrative "T" we can assess. Whew!
|
Sorry, but this isn't even close to right. Yes, he is a legal player once the ball becomes live. No, we don't take the points away or delete the fouls. We simply PUT HIM IN THE BOOK. There is no such thing as being in the book in theory. You either are or you aren't.
Every team member who plays must be in the book. That is the official, written record of the game. Initially missing it is no excuse for not getting it right later.
While I understand how a scorer could overlook an entering substitute not being in the book, once that kid scores or fouls I don't see any way that it could be missed.
If the kid plays and then leaves without scoring or fouling, I can understand a scorer totally missing it, but when it is pointed out to the referee, that kid's name MUST be added to the scorebook and that is a technical foul AT THAT POINT in the game.
Camron, I love your respectful disagreement

, but you just can't get around the fact that since this kid played he MUST be added to the scorebook whether the coach wants it or not, and 10-1-2 tells us that this is a team technical foul.
In short, no case book play is needed, I have it covered in the rules book.
Chuck,
Your play simply says what Tony and I have stated. If the scorebook IS changed that is the time the penalty must be assessed. If the T is not called at that time, it cannot be charged for that infraction later. (Another infraction of the same type later could be penalized though.)
10.1.2 does not cover what to do, if the omission is discovered later and no prior change has been made. It is this case that Tony and I are stating necessitates a scorebook change and a T at that time.
Where's Mr. Dexter? He keeps an NCAA scorebook, I'm certain that he can support this.
[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 6th, 2005 at 04:55 AM]