View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2001, 11:33pm
Gre144 Gre144 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
If I were the umpire, I would drop the ball and immediately say that the ball is live.

I had a similar scenario in which I interfered with the catchers throw to thrid base causing him to over throw the ball which allowed R2 to score. I let the play stand but I am not sure if this is the right call.

I guess the question to be asked might be the following:

Is there a rule for umpire interference on a thrown ball that does not lodge in the umpire's uniform? In other words, what is the call when the umpire definately affects the play that does not involve a batted ball?

[Edited by Gre144 on May 9th, 2001 at 12:05 AM]
Reply With Quote