First of all this is 16 yr. old AAU regional final. This is what we did. When the inbounder touched the ball, a whistle was blown immediately. The lead official then immediately signalled for all three of us to get together. In our little huddle we discussed everything that has been posted here. The consensus was that the ball was put at the inbounder's disposal when it was tapped by the teammmate. Therefore, since the inbounder had both feet out of bounds and the ball had been placed at the disposal of the inbounder, we had a violation on the inbounding team. We then called both coaches together and the referee gave this explanation to both coaches. The coach of the inbounding team obviously wasn't real happy but understood our rationale. He then asked what would have happened if an opponent had tapped the ball to the inbounder instead of a teammate. The referee thinking very quickly said he would blow his whistle and tell the players to leave the ball alone and administer the throw-in. We then gave the ball to the other team and plyed on. The inbounding team eventually went on to win.
|