View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2004, 03:01pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Then if Abel misses 2B on his return to tag up at 1B, at what point is his miss of 2B uncorrectable? Obviously, if he missed 2B on the return, ran halfway back to 1B, and then turned around to run and touch 2B (correcting his miss), then returned to 1B before the ball got there, we would consider him as having corrected his miss.

Is it that once he has touched 1B on the return, he has irrevocably cemented his mistake at 2B?

I'm having a hard time with the logic here.
Well, stop changing the play, or at least put a runner in for Abel. He's gotta be one tired SOB by now.
Quote:

Abel hits a ball off the fence, touches 1B, misses 2B, gets halfway to 3B, and, seeing the throw to 3B, retreats to 2B. While Abel is standing on 2B, the defense tags him and appeals that he missed 2B the first time by. I judge that Abel retreated to 2B not to correct his miss, but solely because he could see that he was going to be out at 3B. I therefore call him out for missing 2B.
I believe you are really overthinking this one. In the play above the player is returning to a base in route to nowhere. The only way you get this runner out is if there is a live ball appeal at 2B prior to Abel returning.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote