Then if Abel misses 2B on his return to tag up at 1B, at what point is his miss of 2B uncorrectable? Obviously, if he missed 2B on the return, ran halfway back to 1B, and then turned around to run and touch 2B (correcting his miss), then returned to 1B before the ball got there, we would consider him as having corrected his miss.
Is it that once he has touched 1B on the return, he has irrevocably cemented his mistake at 2B?
I'm having a hard time with the logic here. Abel hits a ball off the fence, touches 1B, misses 2B, gets halfway to 3B, and, seeing the throw to 3B, retreats to 2B. While Abel is standing on 2B, the defense tags him and appeals that he missed 2B the first time by. I judge that Abel retreated to 2B not to correct his miss, but solely because he could see that he was going to be out at 3B. I therefore call him out for missing 2B.
[Edited by greymule on Dec 24th, 2004 at 11:49 AM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|