Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Now I'm very confused. So in ASA a runner cannot correct a previous miss by touching the base the last time by.
In that case:
1. Abel on 1B. Baker lines to right-center. Abel rounds (touches) 2B and F9 makes the catch. Abel misses 2B on the return but makes it back to 1B as F9's throw gets away. Abel tags 1B and runs to 2B.
Abel is standing on 2B when the defense tags him and appeals that he missed 2B on the return to 1B.
No last time by. Out.
|
Correct. Since all bases must be touched in order, to safely return to 1B without jeopardy of being out on appeal, he must actually touch 2B, then 1B. Now, at this point, he is free to advance without compromise.
Quote:
2. Same play but Abel misses 2B as he rounds it. On the return he touches 2B. The throw gets away. Abel touches 1B and runs to 2B.
Abel is standing on 2B when the defense tags him and appeals that he missed 2B the first time by.
It's a missed base. Abel is out on appeal.
After the throw gets away (still in LBT) and Abel has returned to 1B, does he have to run to 2B, correct whatever miss he made the first or second time by, then return to 1B, and then, if he has time, run to 2B again?
Or, once he touches 1B, is it impossible for him to correct his error?
|
Here is where it CAN get dicey. By rule, the runner can be called out. However, you are now going to get the argument that Abel realized he missed 2B and was returning to touch it and then returned to 1B to retouch. This can be a valid point and is where that "judgment" thing comes into effect on the umpire's behalf. That's why we get the big bucks!