Quote:
Originally posted by tomegun
Jay R, I'm game to listen to any viewpoint but if you read the definition of POI this doesn't fit.
|
Interestingly, Tommy is right. 4-51 gives the procedure for using POI in the following circumstances:
1) awarding a throw-in after a T, when one team had control;
2) after a stoppage of play for a 2-10 correctable error;
3) awarding FTs after technical FTs; and
4) resuming play after events that were beyond the control of home administration.
Amazingly, there is no provision for resuming play after a T when there was no team control.
In that case, since we have to go to the arrow, and have an AP throw-in, I would argue that the general throw-in rules apply. The throw-in would be from the closest spot of the infraction, which would be a designated spot on the endline, NCAA 7-5-1.
Your situation is covered almost exactly in AR 13 (sit A) on page 116, except that it doesn't tell you where the throw-in spot is